If you've made a mistake with a Tyro EFTPOS payment, you have the option to reverse, refund or re-assign the transaction. This guide shows you how to reverse or refund a transaction. If you need to reassign a transaction, please see our guide Reassign a Tryo Payment

What is the difference between a refund and reversal?

The process of applying a refund or reversal is very similar, however the end result is different.

  • When a reversal is applied, the amount owing on the invoice will change to reflect the amount reversed. In other words, the invoice will be owing an amount after the reversal is processed

  • When a refund is applied, the amount owing will remain as '$0' and a 'refund' will be recorded in the payment history. In other words, the client does not owe any further payment on the invoice.

💡 If you'll need to take payment again, you'll want to reverse a payment, not refund a payment.

Reversing a payment

  1. Click on the $ button or select Payment \ Auto Assign


2. Once the Receive Payment window appears, select Reversal located under Payment History

3. On your Tyro terminal, enter in the refund password and hit the green OK button

4. Swipe the client's EFTPOS card

5. Request the client to enter their EFTPOS card's PIN

6. Process the transaction with your Tyro Terminal and specify whether you'd like to print a receipt for your client

Refunding a payment

  1. Click on the $ button or select Payment \ Auto Assign


2. Once the Receive Payment window appears, select Refund located under Payment History


3. On your Tyro terminal, enter in the refund password and hit the green OK button

4. Swipe the client's EFTPOS card

5. Request the client to enter their EFTPOS card's PIN


6. Process the transaction with your Tyro Terminal and specify whether you'd like to print a receipt for your client

Did this answer your question?